/ Home » Advaita

The Five Elements Of Nature

This body of works explores the theme of Advaita, wherein the oneness within each one of us is the fundamental quality of everything around us. The artist uses five different elements of nature that constitute the universe as mediums to experience the world around her. These elements are Prithvi (Earth), Jal (Water), Agni (Fire), Vaayu (Air) and Akasha (Space). The use of five distinct colors in the exhibition depicts these five elements. The artist also uses specific lines and textures to differentiate one element from another and the use of shlokas (prayers) for each of these elements demonstrates the spiritual link that integrates these elements, affirming the oneness of the individual soul, God, and the Universe.

Avani – Earth

ॐ वसुन्धराय विधमहे I भुतधत्राय धीमहि I थान्नो भूमिः प्रचोदयात॥

Prithvi, or earth, is associated with the very earth that we live on. It represents the of essence of stability, permanence, and rigidity.

The artist makes use of the green colour and solid shapes and lines that are particularly heavy at the bottom to represent this element

Agni – Fire

ॐ महाज्वलये विधमहे I अग्निदेवये धीमहि थान्नो I अग्निः प्रचोदयात॥

Agni, or fire, is associated with the sense of sight. Fire has the power to transform, burn, and illumine. Fire is dominant in nature. In the mind, Fire assists two contrasting feelings of passion, as well as anger. The artist uses red as the fundamental colour with respect to this element. The uses of circles are prominent in this set of artworks as it represents our source of energy, the Sun.

Vaayu – Air

ॐ सर्वप्रनाय विधमहे I य़श्तिहस्तय धीमहि I थान्नो वायुः प्रचोदयात॥

Vaayu, or air, is characterised by the sense of touch. Air is the Element that is mobile and eternally dynamic, with no arrest, whatsoever. Its constant motion and speed is its unique characteristic It is a feeling rather than any concrete shape and is hence represented by fluidity in form. The artist uses light translucent colours of grey and white textures to represent the movement of air.

Amara – Space

ॐ आकशाय् च विधमहे I नभो देवाय धीमहि I थान्नो गगनं प्रचोदयात्॥

This series representing space is named ‘Amara’ meaning limitless. Space is the essence of emptiness and it is space that all the other elements fill in. Ether is the space in which everything happens. This fundamental purpose of Akasha is emphasised using solid shapes. Akasha, or space, is associated with the colour black. The artist uses grey and gold to complement the black mystery of space. Space is the mother of the other elements. The experience of space as luminous emptiness is the basis of higher spiritual experiences.

Amrutum – Water

ॐ जल बिम्भयविधमहे I नीलपुरुशयधीमहेI थान्नोवरुणप्रचोदयथ॥

Jal, or water, is represented by fluid flowing forms that exist in the universe. The artists uses blue and white to portray this element along with waves and distinct water marks.

error: Content is protected !!